Fourth World Conference SOLE – EALE 2015

4th Joint meeting of SOLE – EALE


Fourth World Conference SOLE – EALE 2015

The European Association of Labour Economists (EALE) and the Society of Labor Economists (SOLE) are proud to announce their 4th joint meeting. The event will take place during 26-28 June 2015 at Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth hotel, Montreal, Canada.


The aim of the conference is to facilitate the exchange of ideas and research results in the field of labour economics.

Local organising committee:
Fabian Lange, McGill University
Daniel Parent, HEC Montréal

SOLE EALE program chairs:
Janet Currie, Princeton University, USA
Christian Dustmann, University College London, UK

Invited lectures:
Adam Smith lecture: Jean-Marc Robin, Sciences Po, Paris, France
Albert Rees lecture: Enrico Moretti, University of California, USA
Presidential Address SOLE: Janet Currie, Princeton University, USA
Presidential Address EALE: Christian Dustmann, University College London, UK

Invited sessions:
1. The Great Recession
Chair: TBD
– Thomas Lemieux, University of British Columbia
– Tito Boeri, Universita Bocconi

2. Early Childhood Development and the Labor Market
Chair: Anna Aizer, Brown University
– Sandra Black, University of Texas, Austin
– Uta Schoenberg, University College London

3. Peer Effects in the Labor Market
Chair: Fabian Lange, McGill University
– Alexandre Mas, Princeton University
– Fabian Waldinger, University of Warwick

4. New Developments in the Economics of Education 
Chair: Ian Walker, Lancaster University
– Caroline Hoxby, Stanford University
– Steven Machin, London School of Economics

5. Technology, Inequality and Innovation 
Chair: David Green, University of British Columbia
– David Autor, MIT
– Alan Manning, London School of Economics

6. Theory and Evidence in Labor Economics
Chair: Edward Lazear, Stanford University
– Bentley MacLeod, Columbia University
– Joshua Angrist, MIT

7. New Approaches to Measuring Entrepreneurship — Sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation
Chair: Audrey Light, Ohio State University
– Audrey Light, Ohio State University
– Ron S. Jarmin, U.S. Bureau of the Census
– Kathryn Shaw, Stanford University

8. New Data
Chair: TBD
– Kjell Salvanes (Scandinavian data)
– John Abowd (Census)
– Stefan Bender (Research Data and Service Center, National Bank of Germany)

EALE Scientific Committee